26 QBs named to Davey O’Brien watch list

The Davey O’Brien Foundation unveiled on Tuesday the names of 26 quarterbacks on the 2018 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List.

The players were chosen based on performance during the 2017 season and the expectations for their play in 2018. Nominees must have started one game for their current team in the previous season, and any player who was a finalist or semifinalist in 2017 automatically was included.

The list is topped by two-time semifinalists Jalen Hurts of Alabama and Jake Browning of Washington. Other previous semifnalists on the list are Kelly Bryant, Clemson; Nick Fitzgerald, Mississippi State; Will Grier, West Virginia; Trace McSorley, Penn State; McKenzie Milton, Central Florida; and Khalil Tate, Arizona.

Among the players on the watch list, 13 are seniors, 12 are juniors and one is a sophomore. The SEC has six players selected for the second straight year to lead the way.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is given each year to the nation’s best college quarterback. Sixteen semifinalists will be named on Nov. 6, and winner will be announced on Dec. 6.

Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma won the award last year.

Jake Fromm
Georgia sophomore QB Jake Fromm was one of 26 quarterbacks named to the 2018 Davey O’Brien Award watch list. (USA TODAY Sports)

Here’s the full list:

Jake Bentley, South Carolina, (Jr., Opelika, Ala.)

Jake Browning, Washington (Sr., Folsom, Calif.)

Kelly Bryant, Clemson (Sr., Calhoun Falls, S.C.)

Mason Fine, North Texas (Jr., Peggs, Okla.)

Ryan Finley, NC State (Sr., Phoenix)

Nick Fitzgerald, Mississippi State (Sr., Richmond Hill, Ga.)

Andrew Ford, UMass (Sr., Camp Hill, Penn.)

Jake Fromm, Georgia (So., Warner Robins, Ga.)

Will Grier, West Virginia (Sr., Charlotte, N.C.)

Justice Hansen, Arkansas State (Sr., Edmond, Okla.)

Justin Herbert, Oregon (Jr., Eugene, Ore.)

Alex Hornibrook, Wisconsin (Jr., West Chester, Penn.)

Jalen Hurts, Alabama (Jr., Houston)

Tyree Jackson, Buffalo (Jr., Norton Shores, Mich.)

Daniel Jones, Duke (Jr., Charlotte, N.C.)

Kyle Kempt, Iowa State (Sr., Massilon, Ohio)

Brian Lewerke, Michigan State (Jr., Phoenix)

Drew Lock, Missouri (Sr., Lee’s Summit, Mo.)

Trace McSorley, Penn State (Sr., Ashburn, Va.)

McKenzie Milton, UCF (Jr., Kapolei, Hawaii)

Nathan Rourke, Ohio (Jr., Oakville, Ontario)

Brett Rypien, Boise State (Sr., Spokane, Wash.)

Jarrett Stidham, Auburn (Jr., Stephenville, Texas)

Brent Stockstill, Middle Tennessee (Sr., Murfreesboro, Tenn.)

Khalil Tate, Arizona (Jr., Inglewood, Calif.)

Manny Wilkins, Arizona State (Sr., Novato, Calif.)

–Field Level Media

Leave a Reply