Ohio State’s Bosa among 85 players on Bednarik Award watch list

Eighty-five college football players, largely from a who’s who of national powers, have been named to the Chuck Bednarik Award watch list, released Monday by the Maxwell Football Club.

The award is presented annually to the nation’s top defensive player, as voted by the Maxwell club.

Notable players on the watch list include: defensive end Nick Bosa of Ohio State; defensive tackle Greg Gaines and safety Taylor Rapp of Washington; and cornerback Greedy Williams and linebacker Devin White of LSU.

Four teams have three players each on the list: defensive end Raekwon Davis, linebackers Anfernee Jennings and Mack Wilson from Alabama; defensive end Clelin Ferrell, defensive tackles Dexter Lawrence and Christian Wilkins from Clemson; defensive ends Chase Winovich and Rashan Gary and linebacker Devin Bush from Michigan; and linebackers Cameron Smith and Porter Gustin and safety Marvell Tell from USC.

Of the 85 players, all but 16 are from schools in Power Five conferences.

The award is given annually in honor of Bednarik, who played his college football at Penn and professionally with the Philadelphia Eagles.

–Field Level Media

Leave a Reply