Tagovailoa, Murray, Haskins named Heisman finalists

Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins, Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray and Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa were named as Heisman Trophy finalists on Monday.

Tagovailoa, a sophomore at Alabama, finished the season with 3,353 yards and 37 touchdowns and averaged 11.4 yards per attempt. He also rushed for an additional five touchdowns. His performances helped keep the Tide at No. 1 in the polls all season long, and they remain there after winning another SEC title. In Saturday’s SEC championship against Georgia, Tagovailoa went 10 of 25 for 164 yards, one touchdown and two interceptions before exiting the game with a right ankle injury.

Murray, a junior at Oklahoma, is one of three players to eclipse 4,000 passing yards in 2018 along with Haskins and Washington State quarterback Gardner Minshew. He threw for 4,053 yards and 40 touchdowns while completing 70.9 percent of his passes and averaging 11.9 yards per attempt. He was just as impressive on the ground, rushing for 892 yards and 11 touchdowns. Murray had 379 yards and three touchdowns in the Sooners’ 39-27 win over Texas on Sunday for the Big 12 title and a berth in the College Football Playoff, where Oklahoma is set an Orange Bowl matchup against Tagovailoa and Alabama on Dec. 29.

Haskins, a sophomore, led the Buckeyes to their second consecutive Big Ten title and finished the season with 4,580 yards, 47 touchdowns and eight interceptions. He’s the single-season record holder in the Big Ten for passing yards and touchdowns, blowing away old Ohio State records set by Joe Germaine with 3,330 yards in 1998 and J.T. Barrett with 35 touchdowns in 2017. In Saturday’s championship game against Northwestern, Haskins had 499 yards and five touchdowns, leading his team to a 45-24 win.

The Heisman Trophy winner will be announced Saturday evening.

–Field Level Media

Leave a Reply