Splyce win epic Knockout to earn final Main Event spot

Splyce won a dramatic 3-2 Knockout Stage series against the Unicorns of Love on Tuesday to secure the final spot at the Main Event of the World Championships in Berlin.

UoL, who notched two upsets of Clutch Gaming during group play, opened Tuesday’s series with a win in the first game. Splyce rallied to take a 2-1 lead, putting the top seed from Group B within one game of the Main Event.

However, Splyce were unable to hold the push in the fourth game, and UoL forced a decisive fifth. With the final spot in the Main Event on the line, Splyce were able to finally eliminate UoL. Bot laner Kasper “Kobbe” Kobberup was named MVP of the series.

“We did it!,” the organization tweeted shortly after the victory was sealed. “A nail biting series ends 3-2 in our favor. GG’s to our friends at @UnicornsOfLove for an incredibly close series.”

Splyce are in the Worlds after sweeping Schalke 04 in the second round of the LEC regional, as the team joined G2 Esports and Fnatic as representatives from Europe.

“After 8 months of work we qualify for groups stage,” Splyce strategic coach Hadrien “Duke” Forestier tweeted. “It feels like every step of the way has been a new mountain to climb, but in the end we did it.”

The series put an end to the event for UoL, who lost twice to MAMMOTH in group play but reached the Knockout Stage by winning both best-of-ones against CG.

“Sadly worlds will end here for us,” UoL tweeted. “Thanks to our fans, your support makes this experience the best! We will come back stronger next split.”

Earlier in the day, Hong Kong Attitude dropped the second game of their series but the LMS third seed had little trouble in knocking out Isurus Gaming, who were trying to earn the first Main Event spot at Worlds for a Latin American team.

HKA support Ling “Kaiwing” Kai Wing earned series MVP honors.

HKA, ahq e-Sports Club and J Team will represent the LMS at worlds. HKA were placed in Group A with G2, Griffin and Cloud9

CG landed in the so-called “group of death” in Group D with SK Telecom T1, fnatic and Royal Never Give Up.

The Main Event begins Oct. 12. It will include 16 teams separated into four groups playing a double-round robin format in best-of-one matches.

The top two teams from each group then advance to the Knockout Stage, which features a single-elimination bracket. First-place teams will play second-place teams, with no two teams from the same group placed in the same half of the bracket.

All matches will be best-of-five, with the event concluding Nov. 10.

Main event groups:

Group A:
G2 Esports (LEC)
Griffin (LCK)
Cloud9 (LCS)
Hong Kong Attitude (LMS)

Group B:
FunPlus Pheonix (LPL)
J Team (LMS)
GAM Esports (VCS)
Splyce (LEC)

Group C:
SK Telecom T1 (LCK)
Fnatic (LEC)
Royal Never Give Up (LPL)
Clutch Gaming (LCS)

Group D:
Team Liquid (LCS)
ahq e-Sports Club (LMS)
Invictus Gaming (LPL)
Damwon Gaming (LCK)

–Field Level Media (@FieldLevelMedia)