Herbert in driver’s seat for ROY with Burrow out

Joe Burrow won’t take another snap in 2020, setting the stage for Justin Herbert to swipe the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year award down the stretch.

Burrow was lost for the season on Sunday with a torn ACL, MCL and peripheral damage. With the universal betting favorite for the OROY award gone, a red-hot Herbert jumped into the favorite’s role entering Week 12.

Herbert is now +100 at multiple sportsbooks, including FanDuel, BetRivers and PointsBet to win the award. DraftKings already listed Herbert as the favorite before Burrow went down on Sunday.

Joe Burrow
Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

While the Chargers are scuffling along at 3-7, Los Angeles has found its quarterback.

Herbert is on pace to obliterate the NFL rookie record for TD passes with 37. He has completed 238 of 350 passes (68 percent) for 2,699 yards — 320.7 yards per game — and has 22 touchdowns to six interceptions.

Tua Tagovailoa, drafted ahead of Herbert but behind Burrow in April, was benched Sunday in favor of Ryan Fitzpatrick and lost ground in the OROY pecking order. Steelers wide receiver Chase Claypool, who added a touchdown to his remarkable debut season on Sunday, is the first rookie with 10 TD catches in the Super Bowl era. He’s at +1500 along with Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson. Jefferson, a first-round pick by Minnesota, is on pace to break the record for rookie receiving yards.

Jaguars running back James Robinson, the undrafted starter in Jacksonville, is at +1800 at FanDuel and DraftKings.

–Field Level Media (@FieldLevelMedia)