Tiz the Law biggest Kentucky Derby favorite in 3 decades

Tiz the Law became the biggest Kentucky Derby favorite in nearly three decades by at least one handicapper after second favorite Art Collector withdrew on Tuesday.

TwinSpires handicapper Ed DeRosa had Tiz the Law a 6-5 favorite on Monday, but now expects the Belmont Stakes winner to go off at 4-5 on Saturday. That would make the son of Constitution the biggest Derby favorite since Arazi was a 4-5 favorite in 1992.

“Tiz the Law is the most likely winner of a Derby in my living memory,” said DeRosa.

Tiz the Law, Manuel Franco, Belmont Stakes
Michael Karas/NorthJersey.com via USA TODAY NETWORK

“He was a deserving favorite even before Art Collector’s defection of the race, but now he’s more likely to win the race than to lose, and the bettors should see it the same way.”

Tiz the Law drew the No. 17 post on Tuesday, a position no previous Derby winner has started from, but that didn’t sway DeRosa’s view of Saturday’s race.

“He has the versatility to overcome the wide post and that explosive turn of foot to put away the opposition down the stretch.”

Twin Spires is a Churchill Downs Incorporated company and is the official wagering partner of the Kentucky Derby.

Kentucky Derby post positions

Position, Horse, DeRosa’s odds, trainer and jockey:

1. Finnick the Fierce, 50-1, Rey Hernandez, Martin Garcia
2. Max Player, 20-1, Steven M. Asmussen, Ricardo Santana, Jr.
3. Enforceable, 30-1, Mark Casse, Adam Beschizza
4. Storm the Court, 50-1, Peter Eurton, Julien Leparoux
5. Major Fed, 50-1, Greg Foley, James Graham
6. King Guillermo, 20-1, Juan Carlos Avila, Samy Camacho
7. Money Moves, 30-1, Todd Pletcher, Javier Castellano
8. South Bend, 30-1, William I. Mott, Jose L. Ortiz
9. Mr. Big News, 50-1, Bret Calhoun, Gabriel Saez
10. Thousand Words, 20-1, Bob Baffert, Florent Geroux
11. Necker Island, 50-1, Chris Hartman, Miguel Mena
12. Sole Volante, 50-1, Patrick Biancone, Luca Panici
13. Attachment Rate, 50-1, Dale Romans, Joe Talamo
14. Winning Impression, 50-1, Dallas Stewart, Joe Rocco, Jr.
15. NY Traffic, 20-1, Saffie Joseph, Jr., Paco Lopez
16. Honor A.P., 6-1, John A. Shirreffs, Mike Smith
17. Tiz the Law, 4-5, Barclay Tagg, Manny Franco
18. Authentic, 8-1, Bob Baffert, John Velazquez

–Field Level Media (@FieldLevelMedia)